July 22, 2013

Thinking, thinking, thinking

Thinking, thinking, thinking...
Not quite as helpful as drinking
You in, trying to figure you out.
watching old reruns
Of sitcoms that you used to laugh at.
Maybe it would be better if I left.
I don't think I would know what to do with myself.
Thinking, thinking, thinking....
Not quite as helpful as drinking
Screwdrivers at the karaoke bar,
Laughing at my lack of vocal talent
but still signing up to sing
Song after song,
desperately trying to hold onto
any pieces of my old self
That haven't gotten erased by our
relationship or time.
Thinking, thinking, thinking...
Not quite as helpful as drinking
that toast at the wedding ceremony
That we never had.
i never wanted things to be this way
for you and me.
i wanted the world on a silver platter
at my feet, waiting for me to indulge.
I'm sorry to you, but mostly to myself...
Thinking, thinking, thinking...
Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker